If Your Facebook Data Was Stolen, This Is What You’ll See On Your News Feed

0
13


Facebook users will start to see notifications in their News Feed regarding the apps and websites that have used their data. The kind of notification will reveal if a user was affected by the data breach related to Cambridge Analytica.  ( Facebook Newsroom )

Facebook started reaching out to the millions of users who were affected by the Cambridge Analytica scandal, revealing the users who had their Facebook data stolen.

Facebook users have started receiving notifications on their News Feed on “Protecting Your Information.” The contents of each notification, meanwhile, reveals if the user was a victim or not of the data breach.

How To Check If Your Facebook Data Was Stolen

In a Facebook Newsroom post, the social network said that beginning April 9, users will start to see a new notification at the top of their News Feed. The notification contains a link to the apps that they use, as well as the information that they have shared, knowingly or unknowingly, to those apps.

“As part of this process we will also tell people if their information may have been improperly shared with Cambridge Analytica,” Facebook said.

Facebook will display two kinds of notifications. In the first kind, the link says “Go To Apps And Websites,” referring to the apps and websites where users have logged in with their Facebook accounts. The link will also allow users to remove the apps and websites that they no longer want to be connected to their Facebook account.

The second kind of notification, meanwhile, shows a link that says “See How You’re Affected.” The notification mentions the banning of This Is Your Digital Life, the app that allegedly misused Facebook user data by sharing it with Cambridge Analytica. If you see this notification, that means you are one of the millions of users who were affected by the data breach.

Can Facebook Turn Things Around?

Ever since the Cambridge Analytica scandal broke out, the social network has been trying its hardest to win back the trust of its users. It remains to be seen, however, if Facebook will be able to turn things around.

With the onset of the #DeleteFacebook movement and confirmation that 87 million users had their data compromised, it will be a tough hill to climb. It also does not help that there is another controversy brewing around Facebook, this time involving Messenger.

Facebook Messenger is now adding an unsend feature to allow users to retract messages from conversations without leaving any trace. Facebook announced the feature after it was discovered that the company deleted messages that were sent by CEO Mark Zuckerberg through Messenger, which was said to be in response to the Sony Pictures hack of 2014.

© 2018 Tech Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here