Australian Senate president Stephen Parry to resign over British citizenship


Mr Joyce was the only MP from the lower house to be disqualified and will now recontest his seat at a byelection on December 2. The other MPs, all Senators, are likely to be replaced by party colleagues.

Section 44 of Australia’s constitution expressly bans MPs from being “a subject or citizen of a foreign power” – but many of the nation’s politicians appeared to be unaware of the requirement.

The government now faces growing calls for an audit of the citizenship of all MPs.

Eric Abetz, a Liberal MP, said an audit would help to maintain public confidence in the integrity of the Parliament.

“If Stephen Parry finds himself in this unfortunate situation there may well be others,” he told Sky News.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here